7 Comments

Thank You, Yash Chopra

Nothing anyone says will ever be enough.

It’s not just that he’s gone – but the way he left, just a few short weeks after that iconic conversation with SRK re-visiting his life and life’s works. And his last love letter to cinema and to the audience set to release so soon – almost as though he knew…that it was time to say goodbye to his legions of fans and well-wishers, to all of us whose dreams and fantasies and filmy passions were born via his vision of life, love and human relationships.

For me, Yash Chopra IS Bollywood so it’s really unfathomable to even wrap my head around the fact that he’s gone. It’s too impossible to conceive – how can there be a Bollywood without Yash Chopra? What is Bollywood without Yash Chopra? What does the industry stand for without him? How can he be gone? There’s almost a feeling like the entire industry has been orphaned by his passing.

In a way, it’s like the passing of the entire old guard, of old Bollywood, not just a generation but an entire way of being, living, dreaming, working, relating, expressing, seeking, worshipping and above all, loving. He lived well and he lived fully and he leaves behind his entire heart with each one of the movies he made, each lovingly crafted frame woven with that extra-special magic that only he, to this day, has known how to weave on the silver screen.

That magic is Yash Chopra’s greatest gift to us. It wouldn’t be overstating it to say that my notions of love, relationship, beauty and goodness were shaped by him at a very young age, and they remain in my consciousness so unwilling to fade despite the increasing jadedness and cynicism of the world. Yash ji was innocence, and I believed in that innocence (and still do). In some invisible, subtle way, he’s made an impact on how I’ve lived my life and the choices I’ve made.

No, Yash ji wasn’t just a filmmaker. He was much, much more than that. And he lives forever.

7 comments on “Thank You, Yash Chopra

  1. I can’t do this right now, I just can’t. :*(

  2. It can’t be real, can it? Your second-to-last paragraph hit so close to home for me. The way I apprehend the world both emotionally and aesthetically was, at an early age, shaped in some way by Yash Chopra’s almost Keatsian cinematic vision. I took away, without even realizing it, from his films that love is an idyll among the madness, that one ought to hold one’s head high (and look beautiful) throughout one’s challenges, that the beauty of this world – its people, its music, its sights and sounds – is perennially a source of quiet joy. Even today, my stock image for romance is Sridevi almost trembling with pleasure all over Europe in “Kabhi Main Kahoon,” and my go-to icon of beauty is Rekha’s shining, magnificent form in “Silsila.”
    It really doesn’t feel real.

  3. I just keep remembering that conversation with SRK where he said he doesn’t want to direct anymore – he said he’d like to spend more time with his wife, and enjoy everything while he’s still young…and that’s what makes this so tragic…

    I too grew up on Yash Chopra movies….movies like Silsila, Chandini, and Lamhe are a part of my childhood…I just really don’t have any words…all I can say is that Bollywood won’t be the same without Yash Chopra:(

  4. Thank you so much for writing this! He truly is a legend..

  5. Cannot fathom. Just too hard. Bollywood is what it is because yashji set the standards. It’s created such a big vacuum in all our lives. R.I.P

  6. Thank you for a post nicely written. I read it and somehow I feel the lost too. May his soul rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

